Do writers need a web site?

website

Read on, if you wonder if having a web site is “worth it.”

 I’m a writer. When I powered on my web site last year, I was thrilled and bubbling over with excitement. That was short lived. And I wondered if I’d made a giant boo-boo. I constantly asked myself if my expectations were too high.

 It took me a while to come to grips with issues associated with owning my own domain. I had to learn the fundamental force that totally effects my site’s success, and that’s called my BOUNCE RATE.

 I’ll explain; when a visitor to my site begins to read the material, I have posted in my site, they either stay with their reading (find it interesting) or else give it a cursory glance and move on. The lower the bounce rate, the more time is spent on reading what’s in there.

 A bounce rate of 90% shows that visitors are simply passing through, and not paying much attention to the website material. A bounce rate of 75% is better than 90%, and indicates interest is gaining.

 Confused? Let me put it this way:

 * The percentage of visitors to a particular website who navigate away from the site after viewing only one page. A rising bounce rate is a sure sign that your homepage is boring or off-putting. [Google Analytics]

 I make it a point to check my web site every day. Guess what my bounce was today, and most of the past ten days? A tad up or below 7.64%! Color me pleased, and give me a minute while I do a happy dance.

 Thank you to each one of you who take interest in my writing. And to those who drop in on me at my web site, please continue to visit. I will be posting some unique material about my science fiction novel that is now in the hands of my editor.

 My web site door is always open, and I wholeheartedly welcome new visitors. In fact, here’s a key to the place.

 

Leave a Reply

