Republish or not: Indie authors respond

 

Barnes-Noble

I’m an Indie author. I spend countless hours writing stories. When each tale is told there’s more work to be done and that’s when I bring in the hired help. Book cover graphics need selecting; my story goes to-and-from my editor so often, I’ve almost memorized it. This is the business of Indie.

A reader told me recently,  ” I clicked on a link in your book, and it didn’t work.”

Yikes, a comment like that knocks my authorial reputation down four or five notches. so, I asked three writers if they ever reviewed and freshened up their published works:

“I felt sort of relieved every time I republished one of my books. It felt as though I had cleansed it of any impurities. Still, I guess we’re never satisfied, and strive for perfection. I understand my earlier novels were littered with errors, mostly to do with past tense. I have also recovered from my short spell with writer’s block and have started another novel. When will this madness end?”

“How tough it was to get all my rights back from traditional publishers. Solstice was the hardest because they wanted money. I didn’t pay anything but it took two years to get the rights back. I had the books scanned into word and went from there. I had 16 books already published and rewrote them for update then submitted them to Amazon as new.”

What motivates writers to look over their published works and opt to “freshen up” one or more and republish?  “A desire for higher quality. Refreshing their backlist, revising and upgrading their covers, and renewed promotion potential.”

Yes, the fellow above is yours truly and I’m in the process of reviewing each of my published works. And yes, I’m the one to whom a reader pointed out a significant issue she encountered in a few of my books. 

So, how does one ensure that published books truly are publish worthy? The process begins like this, carefully scrutinize each title,

  • View the book on an eReader
  • Check the title for justification
  • Review the front matter text
  • Adjust formatting, if required, of front matter
  • If your book has a table of contents, make sure it works
  • If no TOC, be sure that each chapter has a heading
  • Make notations of any adjustments required
  • Download the book’s file copy
  • Activate your system’s spell/grammar check
  • Begin to slowly review each page.
  • Watch for words and/or sentences that run together
  • Look for long “white” spaces separating words or lines
  • Insert page breaks were required
  • Look carefully at all hyperlinks; check each one; make sure it works
  • Double-check accuracy and make sure web sites shown are active
  • Read through the book’s interior. Check  dialogue for errors.
  • If the cover is out of fashion, this is a good time to update it
  • Revise book price, if warranted
  • Review and rewrite book’s description
  • Check and redo keywords, if needed
  • Check the publisher’s name

Think you’re done at this point? No. Upload all the changes to your book, and view them on your eReader. Check, double-check, and triple check until you know your text is as good as you can make it. And now ask a friend or beta reader to re-read the book in is entirety, and give you a report.

Back to work now my friends, I hope this post is helpful, and saves you from the embarrassment I experienced.  if I omitted anything important in the above process, please, please let me know.

Keep on writin’.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

